If you are serious about cooking…

…you have to learn the rules!

I know I’ve been too quiet the last few days, but I promise I’ve been making great use of my time. The secret to being a successful cook is learning what works and what doesn’t. I just found the most amazing book to help me with this: Culinary Reactions (The Everyday Chemistry of Cooking), by Simon Quellen Field.

Once a cook knows WHY oil and water don’t mix, how eggs react in a batter, and the million other “simple” rules, cooking becomes a joyful adventure. Experiments are much more likely to work, failures are fewer, and the cook becomes CONFIDENT.

In the next few days/weeks I PROMISE to share what i learn with my readers. If you can find the book, please do. If not, hopefully my posts will be helpful.

(and I KNOW this sounds like a commercial, but I am just SO excited about this book!!)

Tags: , ,

About culinarydaze

Hello! I'm just an average woman exploring the wonders of the culinary world and learning to enjoy and simplify food and culture.

4 responses to “If you are serious about cooking…”

  1. themisanthropologist says :

    Oh, is this book similar to “What Einstein Told His Cook.”? Sounds interesting.

    • culinarydaze says :

      Yes, I believe this book is similar, but with some technical jargon thrown into the mix. This author tells not only the things that work together, but also gives SIMPLE scientific explanations. Although I haven’t (yet) read “Einstein” I have browsed it. The sequel “Einstein 2” does have some scientific sidebars.

      • themisanthropologist says :

        Oh…I have the book but I haven’t read it either. I find it interesting though. I was thinking that maybe “Einstein” would be more informal and less scientific. I really should start reading that! lol.

        Thanks!

  2. more details says :

    Spot on with this write-up, I truly believe this amazing site needs a lot more attention.
    I’ll probably be returning to read through more, thanks for the advice!

Leave a Reply

